Existing Building Energy Consumption: Current Situation, Trends, Legislature and Solutions (Post #1: Introduction)

Existing Building Energy Consumption: Current Situations, Trends, Legislature and Solutions (Series Post #1: Introduction)

Our nation’s current energy appetite needs to be curbed. And while there are many solutions out there, I wanted to share my thoughts specifically with energy use and efficiency in buildings. My reason for choosing this topic is twofold: 1) Buildings account for a large portion of the US energy consumption (see more details below) and 2) Throughout my 20 years of experience with building commissioning (new construction and existing building), I have witnessed how commissioning and energy studies contribute to not only energy savings, but lower maintenance costs, increased occupant satisfaction and improved building documentation.

Why look to buildings?
The U.S. buildings sector accounted for 7% of global energy consumption in 2010. We must re-evaluate our fossil fuel consumption patterns which have been directly linked to climate change in order to mitigate the adversities we are facing. Buildings accounted for 41% of primary energy consumption in the U.S.; that is 44% more than the transportation sector and 36% more than the industrial sector. Buildings are identified as being responsible for the largest portion of our country’s carbon dioxide emissions; therefore, it seems the best way to combat climate change and create a sustainable future is to demand a higher standard from our buildings.

The federal government estimated that we can save $40 billion dollars annually by reducing energy use in commercial buildings by 20% by 2020. With people spending 90% of their lives inside buildings, we must work to provide buildings that are operating at ultimate performance. We need leadership and coordination to implement legislation. We need education to allow people to make the best choices. We need research and development to cultivate the technology and practices to ensure sustainable energy solutions. My future posts to this blog series will look at current trends in energy efficient buildings such as energy audits and the impact they have on building systems. The posts will explore the different organizations and principles set forth for better building systems such as ASHRAE. I will then tie in my personal experience and lessons learned as an active commissioning professional in order to explain and exemplify the importance of commissioning, retro-commissioning and energy audits.

I will be publishing a new post every other Thursday. Any topics and/or questions you would like me to address? Leave me a comment and I’ll make sure to reply. I hope this is the beginning of a great discussion.

9 Comments

Filed under Building efficiency, commissioning, Energy, energy audit, energy efficiency, energy usage

9 responses to “Existing Building Energy Consumption: Current Situation, Trends, Legislature and Solutions (Post #1: Introduction)

  1. Wonderful blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with
    a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are
    so many choices out there that I’m totally confused ..
    Any suggestions? Cheers!

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on acidophilus probiotic.
    Regards

  3. you are really a justt right webmaster. The site loading velocity is incredible.
    It kind of feels that yoou are doing any unique trick.
    Also, Thhe contents are masterpiece. you’ve done a fantastic process on thus matter!

  4. When some one searchees for his necessary thing, therefore he/she needs to bee available that in detail, thuis that thing is maintained over here.

  5. The other day, while I was at work, my sister stole my iphone and
    tested to see if it can survive a 30 foot drop,
    just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now broken and
    she has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I
    had to share it with someone!

  6. If some one needs to be updated with latest technologies afterward he must be go
    to see this site and be up to date all the time.

  7. Good blog post. I absolutely love this site.
    Stick with it!

  8. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up!
    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later.

    Cheers

  9. Or, you can continue to believe that Call of Duty is
    exactly like Titanfall.

Leave a Reply

